Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka’s dream comes true after 8 years

Nothing went well for Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2022 final except winning the toss. Pakistan had a tough target of 171 runs to win but their entire team was bowled out for 147 runs in 20 overs. Pakistan’s first shock came in the form of captain Babar Azam. Babar’s Pramod Madushan, who has been in a bad form, went on a (Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka’s dream comes true after 8 years) personal score of 5 runs.

Madushan made his victim of Fakhar Zaman on the very next ball. After two back to back shocks, Mohammad Rizwan tried his best to handle the innings with Iftikhar Ahmed. Both of them shared 71 runs off 59 balls for the third (Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka’s dream comes true after 8 years) wicket. After Iftikhar’s dismissal for 32 runs, the entire Pakistani team collapsed like cards.

Rizwan’s wicket was the turning point

Rizwan, the top scorer of the Asia Cup, also left the team as the fifth wicket in the 17th over with a personal score of 55. In this over, spinner Hasaranga took three wickets and put Sri Lanka in the bag in every way of the match.

Madushan took the maximum four wickets for Sri Lanka while Hasaranga got 3 wickets and Karunaratne took 2 wickets.

Rajapakshe ran fiercely

Sri Lanka scored 170 runs in the first innings including 71 runs from individual Bhanuka Rajapaksha. Rajapakshe hit 6 fours and 3 sixes in his unbeaten innings of 45 balls. At the same time, Hasaranga played an important innings of 36 runs off 21 balls in the lower order.

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan to win the trophy for the second time

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 23 runs in this title fight. This victory of Lanka came after eight years. The special thing is that even in 2014, Sri Lanka lifted the Asia Cup trophy by defeating Pakistan in the final.

Asia Cup winners list

Asia Cup has, so far, been shared between India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka only. However, in recent years, the likes of Bangladesh and Afghanistan have started to threaten this dominance. That said, these nations will require some unreal performances to defeat the established nations.

On that note, here is the list of the winners of the event till now:

1984 – India

1986 – Sri Lanka

1988 – India

1990/91 – India

1995 – India

1997 – Sri Lanka

2000 – Pakistan

2004 – Sri Lanka

2008 – Sri Lanka

2010 – India

2012 – Pakistan

2014 – Sri Lanka

2016 – India


Sport related news

Please click this link for more educational information

Thanks for visiting our blog

Follow us for more information

Share and Enjoy !


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »
error: Content is protected !!